Skip to main content

International Children’s Book Day (ICBD) Celebration

April 3, 2024

The International Board on Books for Young People Philippines (IBBY-PH) partnered with the National Library of the Philippines (NLP) for the ICBD celebration on 2 April 2024 with the inaugural awarding ceremony of The Severino Reyes Medal Award to honor outstanding storybook, picture book and young adult literature for the last decade.

In his opening remarks, NLP Director Cesar Gilbert Q. Adriano expressed gratitude to the authors, illustrators, and publishers for their effort and commitment, and congratulated the awardees who brought inspiration and hope in every work they produce. The family representatives of Severino Reyes also expressed their gratitude to IBBY-PH and Vibal Foundation for honoring their “Lolo Binoy” by naming the award after him.

For story book category, “I Like Wearing Rainbows,” published by the Center for Art, New Ventures, and Sustainable Development (CANVAS), written by Agay Llanera, and illustrated by Lui Manaig bagged the award. Under this category, the following were included as honor list: “Bago na ang Dating Ako,” “Ang Bahay na Maraming Klasrum,” “Isla Esperanza,” and “Moon Rising.”

“Kalambing,” published by Adarna House, Inc., written by Augie Rivera, and illustrated by Al Estrella won the best picture book. Titles included in the honor list are “Ma MeMi MoMu,” “The Perfect Tree,” “Tides of the Sea,” and “Si Tonyo at ang Sipit sa Kanyang Sapatos.”

The publication of Lampara Publishing House, Inc. titled “Moymoy Lulumboy: Ang Batang Aswang,” written by Segundo Matias, Jr., and illustrated by Jomike Tejido won in the yound adult book category. Included in the honor list are “At Home with Crazy,” “Ang Larong Nagwakas sa Atin,” “Maselan ang Tanong ng Batang si Usman,” and “Supremo.”

The Selection Committee is composed of librarians from NLP, library associations and representative from the National Book Development Board. From the Philippine Librarians Association, Inc., it was represented by its President, Dr. Eliza V. Garcia and Mr. Kevin Conrad T. Tansiongco, Vice President for Luzon. Ms. Maria Victoria E. De La Cruz, President and Ms. Charito P. Basagre, Ex-oficio, represented the Philippine Association of School Librarians, Inc. (PASLI); The Association of Librarians in the Public Sectors (ASLP) was represented by its President, Ms. Lucila R. Raquiño and Vice President, Ms. Easter Wahayna-Pablo; Director Anthony John R. Balisi represented the National Book Development Board; the National Library of the Philippines was represented by Dr. Dolores D. Carungui, Reference Division Chief, who acted as the Selection Committee Chairperson, Ms. Melody M. Madrid, Collection Development Division Chief and Jose Tomasito N. Fernando, Section Head, of NLP’s Children’s Library.

The bestowing of The Severino Reyes Medal is slated to be held on April 2 of every year, in celebration of International Children’s Book Day spearheaded by International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) to inspire a love of reading and to call attention to children’s books.

National Library of the Philippines Skip to content